An Introduction To The Mizzou Softball Team

Are you a softball fan from Mizzou? Then you have approached the perfect place to learn about Mizzou softball. All you need to know about the Mizzou Tigers have been provided below to ensure that you have explicit knowledge about the Mizzou softball landscape. 

It is the University of Mizzou’s NCAA Division I softball team that the Mizzou Tigers represent. Larissa Anderson, the team’s head coach, was hired on May 26 this year.

A Brief On The History Of Mizzou Softball

Knowing about the Mizzou softball scenario, you must know about the history of this team. Here is a summary of the history of this team:

  • The initial period from 1975 until 1987

Women’s softball, women’s basketball, track & field, women’s swimming, women’s volleyball, and women’s tennis were added to the Mizzou athletic program in the 1974–1975 academic year in response to Title IX in 1972. She was the first softball coach and coached women’s basketball and track and field (including cross-country) at Mizzou University from 1974 to 1975.

She also served as the women’s assistant director of athletics and sports information director for eight of the university’s female sports (1974-1977). As head coach, Jarrett was a resounding success, leading the team to second place in the 1975 and 1976 AIAW State Championships with 14-7 (.667 winning percentage). [4] Kansas State hosted an unofficial Big Eight Championship, and the 1975 squad finished sixth.

Coach Debbie Duren led Mizzou to modest four-year success, culminating in 1980 with a second-place finish in the Big 8 Tournament and a fifth-place finish in the AIAW Region 6 Championship under her guidance.

While serving as the Tigers’ head coach from 1981 through 1985, Barb Preist helped the team to the Women’s College World Series, where Mizzou finished 5th that year. During the first NCAA Division I tournament in 1982, Preist guided Mizzou to a Mideast Regional berth.

For her first year as head coach, Joyce Compton guided Mizzou to the Big 8 Tournament title and a second trip to the Women’s College World Series after taking over for Preist after the 1982 season. Mizzou’s all-time wins and 1983 All-American Teresa Wilson helmed the 1980–1983 squads.

Before obtaining the head coaching post at the University of South Carolina, Compton could not build on her 1983 season, failing to make the NCAA tournament in the next three seasons. Rhesa Sumrell took over as head coach after Compton was fired, leading Mizzou to its lone losing season between 1979 and 2002. Only three Mizzou seasons have ended with a defeat for the Tigers (1978, 1979, and 1987).

  • Millers Era

In 1988, Jay Miller was named Mizzou’s sixth head coach. For the third time, the Tigers made it to the WCWS in 1991, thanks to All-American pitcher Karen Snelgrove, who led the team to the Big 8 Championship and Big 8 Tournament Championship. With the help of sluggers Mary Babb and Barb Wright, Miller led Mizzou to its fourth berth in the WCWS in 1994 and its first Big 12 Championship in 1997. Ten Mizzou players were named All-American under Miller during his 15 years as head coach.

  • Years 2003–2006, the Singleton era

In 2003, Ty Singleton became the new head coach. Under Singleton, the Tigers enjoyed some success, making it to the NCAA Tournament three times in a row (2003–2005), but failing to advance beyond the Regional round and win any conference titles. In 2003, Singleton was named Big 12 Coach of the Year, but he was fired in 2006 after Mizzou’s third consecutive losing season for the first time since 1979.

  • The Earleywine Saga

Ehren Earleywine, a native of Jefferson City, Mizzou, and the 2005 ACC Coach of the Year, left Georgia Tech for the Tigers in 2007. Earleywine was named Big 12 Coach of the Year in his first year and repeated the feat in 2011.

Earlywine led Mizzou to its first-ever Super Regional berth in 2008, when the Tigers lost to the Alabama Crimson Tide after winning the Iowa City Regional. For the first time since 1994, Mizzou made it to the Women’s College World Series in 2009 by winning the Big 12 Tournament and defeating the UCLA Bruins.

By beating Oregon to reach the Women’s College World Series in 2010, Mizzou became the first host state of a Super Regional. There were three straight trips to the Women’s College World Series for Mizzou in 2011, which included a Big 12 Championship win and a win against Washington. 

Mizzou has won six consecutive Super Regionals because of Earleywine. During the 2009–2011 season, Earleywine guided Mizzou to successive trips in the WCWS.

Under Earleywine’s guidance, six players were named All-Americans, including Rhea Taylor in 2008, 2010, and 2011, Ashley Fleming in 2011, and Chelsea Thomas in 2011, 2012, and 2013. Thomas was a contender for USA Softball Player of the Year honors in 2011 and has been named Big 12 and SEC Pitcher of the Year three times.

Before the beginning of the 2018 regular season, the Mizzou Tigers parted ways with head coach Earleywine on January 26, 2018. After Earleywine stepped down as head coach, Gina Fogue was hired as an interim replacement and guided the Tigers to a 30-29 record in 2018.

  • Anderson Era

On May 26, 2018, the Tigers hired Larissa Anderson as their new head softball coach. Upon leaving Hofstra, Anderson signed a five-year deal with the Mizzou Tigers.

Final Words

These are all you know about the Mizzou softball team, the Mizzou tigers, and how they rose to glory. Understanding these is essential for any Mizzou softball fan and helps you to express your interest in this sport. 

Recent Posts